Publishing services provide support for Laurea staff in writing publications, selecting a publication channel and reporting publications. Publishing Services manages Laurea's own publishing channels: Laurea Publications series and Laurea Journal online magazine. In addition, the publishing services will, where possible, store Laurea’s publications published in other publishing channels as self-archiving in Theseus.
Laurea Publications series English volumes.
Laurea Miscellaneous Publications English volumes.
Publishing services team members and main their main responsibilities:
Hanna Lahtinen, Director, information and publication services
Maija Merimaa, Editor in chief Laurea Publications -series, General support for writing and publishing, CC-licencing & copyrights
Noora Montonen, Editor in chief, Laurea Journal
Anna Laakkonen, Open access publishing, Self-archiving, Publication information collecting and reporting both internally in Laurea and to Ministry of Education and Culture.
Laurea Journal is an online magazine that features articles and blog texts for a professional audience. The publication series is published under CC BY-SA 4.0-licence and all authors must approve Laurea Journal’s publishing agreement before publication.
The writings present research and development work, project results, stakeholder co-operation as well as news and experiences from the field of education. Also student and stakeholder texts written in cooperation with Laurea staff can be published.
You can submit a text you would like to publish to julkaisut(at)laurea.fi.
Editor in chief: Noora Montonen
ISSN 2489-9690
Laurea Publications series publishes monographs, research reports and article compilations on Laurea’s areas of expertise. The publication series is published under CC BY-SA 4.0-licence and all authors must approve Laurea Publications series publishing agreement before publication.
The requisite for publishing in the series is that at least one of the authors/editors is a Laurea staff member, and article compilations should include at least three articles where at least one of the authors is employed by Laurea.
If you plan to publish in Laurea publication series, please contact the series' editor in chief Maija Merimaa.
ISSN (print) 2242-5241
ISSN (online) 2242-5225
Publication should be made for a certain audience. Before you publish, think what is the aim of your publication and at whom do you target it. Different audiences are for example professionals on the same or neighbouring fields, colleagues at Laurea or other universities of applied sciences, partners or stake holders, public administration, politicians, academic community, students or “general public”.
Each audience has a different angle and interest in you subject and they follow different publication channels. Choose a publication type that best reaches your target audience.
Publication can be for example:
Always ensure that the chosen publication channel is publicly available and has an editorial board. Otherwise, the publication does not qualify for a publication point.
Responsible conduct of research is a prerequisite for the credibility and reliability of research. The Finnish National Board on Research Integrity TENK, appointed by the Ministry of Education and Culture, promotes the responsible conduct of research, prevents research misconduct, promotes discussion and spreads information on research integrity in Finland.
The term “parallel publishing” refers to storing the final draft of the manuscript of a scientific article or the publisher's version in the organisation's publication archive with the publisher's permission. Laurea’s archive is Theseus and Parallel publishing in Laurea works via Justus. When reporting a publication in Justus the author should include a link to the online publication. Publication services checks the rights for parallel publishing and archives the publications on behalf of the authors.
Parallel publishing can only be done in accordance with publisher’s policies. Thus publication services recommends, that Laurea personnel does no upload parallel articles in Researchgate, Academia.edu etc, but instead links to the version published in Theseus.
Web of science database allows access to scientific articles from various fields. Its databases include n Journal Citation Report JCR -report where International Science institutes Institute (ISI) publishes iannual journal impact factors. Web of science instruction videos.
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database.
Journal checker tool Check whether a publication is PlanS compliant.
The term Open Access (OA) refers to open, free access to and dissemination of scientific information. An Open Access publication refers to a scientific publication which may be read on the Internet free of charge and unhindered. Open access publishing benefits both society and researchers.
Laurea is committed to Finland's national policy on open access publishing. Thus it is preferebale to publish in open access publication channels or channels that allow immediate parallel publishing.
Publishing open access may include APC-fees, which vary from couple of hundred to several thousand euros.
Please contact Laurea publication services if you have questions on OA-publishing or APC-fees.
FinELib’s pages on OA-publishing
Predator publications are publications that intent to lure researchers to pay APC-fees. They send appealing emails to researchers flattering their publications and promising quick publishing process.
Predator journals
There are several tools for searching trustworthy publication channels. For example you can check if the journal is listed in Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) and if its publisher is a member of Open Access Scholarly Publishers Accosiation (OASPA). 'Think. Check. Submit' ja 'Beall's List of predatory journals and publishers' are good tools as well. Also, if you ae suspicious of a journal, do not hesitate to contact publishing services, we can help you to find a trustworthy publication channel.
Sharing your article with colleagues is an essential part of publishing. Below is listed tools and researhcrs networks taht can be used for sharing. However, prefer lingin to Theseus instead of uploading your articles to various platforms, Thus you can be sure, that sharing of your article does no violate publisher policies.
How Can I Share It can help you get the most out of scholarly sharing. Find relevant information and practical tools to ensure your articles can be shared with your colleagues quickly and easily.
Orcid ID is a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes researchers. You can link for example your publications, affiliations and funding to your Orcid profile, and the ID stays unaltered regardless if you your affiliation or your name.
Researchgate is a European researcher community, where you can upload a profile for free, share manuscripts and discuss with other researchers.
Academia.edu is an American researcher community where you can upload your articles and other research results.
Google Scholar is a search engine for academic articles, and researchers can also create their own profiles on Google Scholar. Google scholar allows you to follow uploading of your articles and their citations.
European Union’s accessibility directive obliges public sector institutions (including Higher education Institutions) to make their publications accessible. The aim is to make services available and accessible for everyone, disregarding of their personal impurities. Thus all podcasts must include a written summary, videos must have subtitles and images used in publications must be provided an alternative text.
Copyrights
Photos, drawn images and graphics are protected by copyright. Thus apart from few expectations specified in the copyright act, the use of an image requires always the copyright holder’s permission. The permission can also be given in a form of an open licence.
More in information on the use of photos: https://libguides.aalto.fi/imagoa_eng
Other rights
If you want to publish photos taken at a non-public event you must have the permission of from the people who appear in the photos. Also, if you take a photo of a copy-righted object, you must have the copyright holder’s permission for publishing the photo.
Credits
Images used in Laurea’s publications are credited. Thus, if you include a photo/figure in you manuscript, always include information of its author in the manuscript.
Accessibility
Laurea’s publications are accessible. This means that images must be provided an alternative text, that states the image’s core information. The idea of the alternative text is to ensure that the audience using e-readers are given the same information as other.
There are various academic referencing styles. First check the publication channel’s guidelines for referencing. If the style is not specified, choose one and stick to it throughout the manuscript.
How to find the right term and right phrase in English? Links to Laurea’s English terminology, English-Englis dictionary and academic phraseology guide.
Laurea-sanasto in English: Laurea’s central terminology in English
Oxford English Dictionary: An English- English dictionary for specifying your expression and broadening your vocabulary.
Academic Phrasebank -Univeristy of Manchester: How to describe trend or express critical opinion in English? Guide to the phraseology of academic English.
Laurea-kirjasto | Saavutettavuusseloste | Laurea Library | Accessibility statement