Laurea LibGuides: Hospitality & Service Design: Books & e-books

Library licensed e-books

Most Laurea Library licensed international e-books can be found through Laurea Finna when searched by the name of the book. However, if you are searching for e-books on certain topic, it's better to conduct the search in the e-book databases and especially in Ebook Central.

International e-book databases

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisclipilinary e-book collection that holds more than 200 000 e-books. Subject areas cover business, information technology, health care, social sciences etc.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection contains 800 ebooks from Harvard Business Review Press and some other books. Books can be read online or they can be downloaded for limited period of time. Downloading requires creating an Ebsco account & having Adobe Digital Editions installed.
Kogan Page Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Kogan Page Complete contains roughly 1000 business ebooks from Kogan Page. All newest titles are indcluded.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods contains ebooks, handbooks, dictionaries, videos, podcasts etc. on research methods and conducting research. Note that Laurea's subscription does not cover Cases and Datasets and some of the videos. No limitations in number of simultaneous users.
Taylor & Francis ebooks
- This link opens in a new window
Specifically for Laurea curated collection of nearly 2000 ebooks from Taylor & Francis, CRC Press and Routledge. NOTE! Search results cover by default also T&F ebooks that Laurea has no license for. Filter the search results to 'Licensed Content' to see the Laurea curated collection only. Filtering by 'Content I have access to' adds also Open Access ebooks and ebook chapters to the search results.
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VLeBooks is a platform onto which Laurea Library acquires individual e-book titles. Currently there are 17 e-book titles in Laurea's collection. Full text search is not supported on collection level. Limitations in number of simultaneous users.

Dictionaries

MOT Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MOT Dictionaries contains dictionaries of dozens of languages and tools for translating and text proofing.

Tool boxes on the internet

Instructions

E-books in Laurea
How to find Laurea Library licensed e-books and some instructions on how to use them

Printed books in Laurea Library

Search Laurea Library's printed books in Laurea Finna.

Service Design book recommendations

Service Design books in Laurea Library
Service Design books in Laurea Library via Finna, new items first.
Service Design Books
A co-created library of recommended reading for service designers. Most of the books can be found in Laurea Library. Formal books on service design are few and far between but many skills and values can be found elsewhere, scattered across disciplines. You just have to know where to look. Add your perspective by recommending books service designers should read, or by seconding an existing recommendation.