Laurea LibGuides: E-books: How to find and use

How to find e-books

Laurea library licensed e-books can be found through Laurea Finna or through the e-book services' own search interfaces.

Laurea Finna's search covers all Laurea licensed Finnish e-books and most Laurea licensed English e-books. However it's recommended to search English e-books through the e-book services's own search interfaces. English e-books are indexed to Laurea Finna with very little information (often only the title and author) whereas in e-book services' own search interfaces you can search the full text of the e-books.

Submitting a purchase request . If an important e-book is missing from our collection, you can leave a purchase request by email: library(at)laurea.fi.

Downloading e-books

Most library licenced e-books can be downloaded for a limited time to a PC, Mac or mobile device. Downloading is supported by Ebook Central, EBSCOhost and VLeBooks.

Downloadable e-books are copy-protected with Adobe's digital rights management (DRM) software. Therefore, before reading the books, the user must install a reading software that supports DRM protection on his device. Use Adobe Digital Editions on PC and Mac computers. Use Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire Reader on mobile devices.

Downloading the reading software to a mobile device (Android / iPad / iPhone)

Create an Adobe account at https://www.adobe.com/go/digital-editions-createID
Download Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire Reader from your device's app store. You need Adobe account credentials to authorize your device.

Downloading the reading software for PC or Mac

Create an Adobe account at https://www.adobe.com/go/digital-editions-createID (not required)
Download Adobe Digital Editions. If you want, authorize your device with Adobe credentials. On PC and Mac authorization can be bypassed.
Note! Laurea's staff can download Adobe Digital Editions onto Laurea's workstations by themselves via Laurea Software Center. Click the Windows icon in the lower left corner of the desktop and type software center. You can download Adobe Digital Editions from the Applications tab of the Software Center. If you have problems in downloading, contact Laurea's IT support at servicedesk[at]laurea.fi.

Printing and copying pages

Printing and copying rights vary by service and book. If printing and copying is allowed, you can usually print / copy only part of the content of a book for your personal use only.

Referencing

Some e-books may not have page numbers marked or page numbers may change depending on the font size used for viewing. In these cases it is preferable to use the chapter or section of the book in the in-text reference. See the instructions of how to refer to e-books at Laurea guidelines for referencing.

Listening to e-books

Have a look at Accessibility LibGuide to find out how to listen to e-books with different Laurea Library licensed e-book services.

Terms of use and remote access

Laurea licensed e-resources are marked with Laurea logo. Using licensed e-resources outside Laurea's network requires logging in with Laurea username and password (Haka login). Within Laurea's network licensed e-resources can in most cases be used without logging in.

Terms of use of each licensed e-resource can be found by clicking the copyright icon located after the name of the e-resource.

International e-book collections

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisclipilinary e-book collection that holds more than 200 000 e-books. Subject areas cover business, information technology, health care, social sciences etc.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection contains 800 ebooks from Harvard Business Review Press and some other books. Books can be read online or they can be downloaded for limited period of time. Downloading requires creating an Ebsco account & having Adobe Digital Editions installed.
Kogan Page Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Kogan Page Complete contains roughly 1000 business ebooks from Kogan Page. All newest titles are indcluded.
Subject areas:
- Business Strategy
- Digital & Technology
- Environmental Management
- Finance & Banking
- General Business Interest
- Human Resources, Learning & Development
- Logistics, Supply Chain & Operations
- Marketing & Sales
- Responsible Business
- Risk & Compliance
- Skills & Careers
- Tourism, Leisure & Hospitality
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods contains ebooks, handbooks, dictionaries, videos, podcasts etc. on research methods and conducting research. Note that Laurea's subscription does not cover Cases and Datasets and some of the videos. No limitations in number of simultaneous users.
Taylor & Francis ebooks
- This link opens in a new window
Specifically for Laurea curated collection of nearly 2000 ebooks from Taylor & Francis, CRC Press and Routledge. NOTE! Search results cover by default also T&F ebooks that Laurea has no license for. Filter the search results to 'Licensed Content' to see the Laurea curated collection only. Filtering by 'Content I have access to' adds also Open Access ebooks and ebook chapters to the search results.
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VLeBooks is a platform onto which Laurea Library acquires individual e-book titles. Currently there are 17 e-book titles in Laurea's collection. Full text search is not supported on collection level. Limitations in number of simultaneous users.