Laurea LibGuides: ManagiDiTH Library Guide: Books and e-books

How to use university e-books?

There are several services you can use to search for e-books.
You can search e-books using :

the actual university e-book service or
larger university search service (metasearch services).

Metasearch services for e-books:

Laurea Library licensed e-books can be found through Laurea Finna
Iscte e-books can be found through IDS - Iscte Discovery Service

To access the e-books, you will need the ID and password of the university - for example, for Laurea e-books you will need the Laurea ID and password, for ISCTE e-books you will need the ISCTE ID and password, and so on. In addition, in Iscte you need to upload Iscte VPN connection.

How to use Iscte e-books

Online resources are available for each university´s students during their studies in the university. Remote access requires authentication and a VPN connection.

Login to the Iscte e-books databases with the 1) Iscte ID and password after 2) you have proceeded as mentioned on “Instructions for access to all online resources” on the right of this page. Find further instruction here.

Laurea e-books

Laurea library licensed e-books can be found through 1) Laurea Finna or through 2) the e-book services own search interfaces listed below.

Laurea Finna's search covers all Laurea licensed Finnish e-books and most Laurea licensed English e-books. However it's recommended to search English e-books through the e-book services's own search interfaces. English e-books are indexed to Laurea Finna with very little information (often only the title and author) whereas in e-book services' own search interfaces you can search the full text of the e-books.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisclipilinary e-book collection that holds more than 200 000 e-books. Subject areas cover business, information technology, health care, social sciences etc.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection contains 800 ebooks from Harvard Business Review Press and some other books. Books can be read online or they can be downloaded for limited period of time. Downloading requires creating an Ebsco account & having Adobe Digital Editions installed.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods contains ebooks, handbooks, dictionaries, videos, podcasts etc. on research methods and conducting research. Note that Laurea's subscription does not cover Cases and Datasets and some of the videos. No limitations in number of simultaneous users.
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VLeBooks is a platform onto which Laurea Library acquires individual e-book titles. Currently there are 17 e-book titles in Laurea's collection. Full text search is not supported on collection level. Limitations in number of simultaneous users.

Submitting a purchase request . If an important e-book is missing from our collection, you can leave a purchase request by email: library(at)laurea.fi.

Iscte e-books

Iscte e-books can be found through 1) IDS - Iscte Discovery Service or 2) the e-book services own search interfaces listed below.

Ebsco Academic E-book Collection
provides access to 205.000 e-books from the EBSCO Academic E-book Collection, a regularly updated multidisciplinary collection from the most prestigious commercial and academic publishers.
eBooks University Press Collection
offers researchers thousands of multidisciplinary e-books from more than 90 of the best university presses from around the world. Covering a variety of subjects, this e-book collection offers titles that range from basic introductory texts to high-level research materials from leading university presses such as Cambridge University Press, Harvard University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Princeton University Press, Stanford University Press and Yale University Press.
SpringerLink
the world's most comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books and reference works, providing access to thousands of journal articles, e-books, conference proceedings, reference works and protocols from a wide range of academic disciplines. Springer allows e-books to be downloaded for offline use and there are no restrictions as to how many users may access a title at one time.

Instructions for access to all online resources

Connectivity to Iscte VPN

For access off campus to any of the online resources mentioned you have to install our VPN (Virtual Private Network). This installation has 2 steps:

Step 1 First of all, you must do a Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) which is a method by which a user confirms the identity through two or more pieces of evidence successfully presented. In the case of Iscte, we consider the username and password to be the first authentication factor. The choice of the second factor will be up to the user. We recommend OKTA Verify App.
Visit https://identity.iscte-iul.pt/, confirm your identity at Identity, follow the steps https://siic.iscte-iul.pt/en/mfa-2/ and proceed with the setting up the Okta Verify app on your mobile phone.
Step 2 Then go to the VPN installation homepage:
https://siic.iscte-iul.pt/en/services/networks-and-connectivity/vpn/#install-vpn where you can select among Windows, MacOSX, Linux or Tablets and Smartphones to setup it.

Instructions

E-books in Laurea
How to find Laurea Library licensed e-books and some instructions on how to use them

Printed books

Printed books can be loaned at the Laurea, ISCTE or AUTh campus libraries. To find printed books from the ManagiDiTH Libraries, use these interfaces:

Laurea Finna search interface offers access to both printed and electronic resources.
Iscte Library Catalog gathers all the resources, and also it gives you access to your personal account.
AUTh Library Catalog offers access to the collections, both printed and online.