Laurea LibGuides: Nursing: Journals & articles

Article databases

EBSCOhost combined search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost combined search covers all EBSCO databases Laurea Library subscribes to plus some free databases. List of databases: BSE (business), CINAHL (health care), PsycARTICLES (psychology), SPORTDiscus (physiotheray, sport, tourism etc.), MEDLINE, ERIC, GreenFile, OpenDissertations.
CINAHL with fulltext (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 600 full text journals on nursing and othes health disciplines. CINAHL also covers indexing for over 3000 journals.
Medic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Terveystieteiden keskuskirjasto Terkon tuottama kotimainen terveystieteiden viitetietokanta. Artikkeliviitteitä kerätään noin 80 suomalaisesta lääke- ja hoitotieteellisestä julkaisusta. Lisäksi mukana ovat suomalaiset ko. tieteenalojen väitöskirjat ja opinnäytteet sekä kokousjulkaisuja, kirjoja ja yliopistojen ja tutkimuslaitosten raportteja. Osasta viitteitä on linkit kokoteksteihin.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Laaja monitieteinen yhteistietokanta, joka sisältää yli 11 000 kokotekstilehteä, yritystietoa, videomateriaalia jne. Osa sisällöstä on vertaisarvioitua, mutta mukana on myös paljon muun tyyppistä sisältöä. Keskeisiä aihealueita ovat mm. liiketalous, terveystieteet, yhteiskuntatieteet ja tekniikka.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, peer reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from about 100 journals, including all journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).

PubMed Central (PMC)
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Lääke- ja terveystieteiden sekä lähialojen tärkein kansainvälinen kirjallisuusviitetietokanta. Tuottaja National Library of Medicine, USA.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 800 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection is a multidiscliplinary database that contains 2000 scholarly journals. Main subject areas are science, technology, health sciences and social sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidiscliplinary (nursing, health care, science, social sciences, humanities, business, technology etc.) article database. Laurea's subscription covers more than 1500 journals. Note that Wiley ebook chapters are not included in Laurea's subscription.

Evidence based practice

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Systemoituja katsauksia eli näyttöön perustuvaa tietoa eri hoitomenetelmien vaikuttavuudesta. Tietokantaa ylläpidetään kansainvälisenä Cochrane-yhteistyönä.
Evidence-Based Medicine Guidelines EBMG (via Terveysportti) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Evidence-Based Medicine Guidelines EBMG is an easy-to-use collection of continuously updated clinical guidelines for primary and ambulatory care linked to the best available evidence. Find the link to EBMG in Terveysportti.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBD Database (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
Näyttöön perustuvan tiedon keskeinen lähde terveysalalla.

Large article search services

Google Scholar
Google's search engine for finding academic content. It returns in most cases more search results than any other academic search tool. NOTE! Activate Laurea library links in GS settings. Read instructions.
Laurea Finna Article Search
Laurea Finna Article Search finds most articles licensed to Laurea and a lots of other content.

AI-based article search tools

There are several articles search services that utilize AI and large language models. You can read more about them in AI and information search LibGuide. Below some examples of such tools.

Keenious Plus
Keenious is an AI-based article search tool. It searches for scientific articles among more than 100 million articles. The search input can be a freely formed text. Laurea staff and students can create an account to the paid Keenious Plus service until 30 April 2025. Usage after that will be evaluated later.

Elicit Registration is required. Registration gives access to free Elicit Basic service. Use natural language sentence(s) as the search input. Elicit searches among more than 125 millions articles. More tools and features available than in Keenious.
Research Rabbit Free to use, but requires creating an account. In addition to finding academic articles, Research Rabbit visualizes the networks formed between publications and authors. Search input can be another article or freely formed text.

Terminology - check keywords

MeSH
Medical Suject Headings - U.S. National Library of Medicin

Other journals and magazines

Journal of Advanced Nursing JAN (Wiley))

PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 7000 newspapers and magazines from 120+ countries written in 60+ languages. The newest issues published within 60-90 days are included.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Terveysportti

Terveysportti This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kustannus Oy Duodecimin portaalipalvelu terveydenhuoltohenkilöstölle. Laureaan ostetut tietokannat näkyvät Terveysportin etusivulla tummalla fontilla.

Finnish organizations and full text articles

Finnish Institute of the Occupational Health
Publications and library services
Hotus - Nursing Research Foundation
Publications and guidelines

Dictionaries

MOT Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MOT Dictionaries contains dictionaries of dozens of languages and tools for translating and text proofing.