What is Laurea Data Catalog?
Laurea Data Catalog is a metadata database of Laurea's RDI project data.
It contains basic information about the RDI data generated by Laurea projects, i.e. information about the project in which the data was generated, the type of data, the themes to which it relates, its location, whether it is accessible and the contact person's details.
Metadata, not the data itself. The Data Catalog does not contain the data itself. If the data has been opened in an open data repository, a link to the location of the data is included in the Data Catalog. Otherwise, the record will mention that the data is on a Laurea network station and provide the contact details.
What is the benefit? The Laurea Data Catalog helps to manage Laurea's data so that we know what kind of data Laurea produces, where it is and whether it can be further used. In the future, for example, students can use the data produced by the project.
Based on what? The Laurea Data Catalogue is based on the Reportronic project management tool, which Laurea uses to track projects and working time. From Repo, data from projects is transferred to the Laurea Data Catalog and the National Research.fi portal.
Lisätietoa Laurean Datakatalogista: http://urn.fi/URN:NBN:fi-fe20231127149498
Project metadata via Laurea project management tool Reportronic to the Laurea Data Catalog
The project manager or the person in charge of the research will ensure that the basic data collected in the project are entered into Reportronic, Laurea project management tool.
Creating and opening metadata
- Fill in the tab Materials in Reportronic according to the instructions below.
- If it is difficult to describe the data created in the project, ask for help. Contact Data support services avoinkulma@laurea.fi)
- Choose the option Publish in the internet, that will carry the metadata over to Laurea Data Catalog.
- Choose the option Publish in Research.fi, that will carry the metadata over to the Research.fi portal.
Even if the actual data of the project cannot be opened, the metadata, or basic information about the data, can often be opened and thus contribute to the visibility of the project, to Laurea's data management, to the goals of the donors and to the results for Laurea.
Metadatan teko Repoon
In Reportronic, the Materials tab is accessed as follows:
- In the project information, go to Sisältö/Content from the left menu.
- From there, select Aineistot /Data on the right.
From the opening view, you can store metadata for multiple data sets.
- The recording is started with the action "Add row".
- This allows you to save metadata for multiple data sets, always by adding a new row.
Metadata format in Reportronic
How to fill in the Repo format
From the Repo Data tab, fill in the following information:
| Data name | Give data a descriptive name. Data name is a required field. | ||
| External system code | This field is not mandatory. | ||
|
Description |
Describe the content of the data as informatively as possible. It is useful to describe what data has been collected, how it was collected and how much of it there is. The aim is to give the reader a good idea of the type of data involved. |
||
| Language | Write here the language of the data. | ||
| Startdate of material collection time | Enter the date when the data collection started | ||
| Enddate of material collection time | Enter the date when the data collection ended | ||
| Material's last editing date | Enter the date when the data was last edited | ||
| Method of collecting data | Enter the method of collecting data. | ||
| Subject terms |
Describe the content of your material using subject headings (3 to 5). Choose your subject headings from the General Finnish Subject Headings Index https://finto.fi/ysa/fi/ |
||
| Disciplines | Choose the discipline or disciplines. Select the discipline of your data (Statistics Finland Classification of Disciplines 2010) | ||
| The location of the material |
Choose Laurea data archive, if the data is kept on Laurea network drive K. |
||
The location of the material: Other, what? |
If the data is open access published in a data repository, write here the name of the repository. |
||
Owner |
Who owns the data? The owner is the person or organisation that decides how the material is used. If the data was collected in a publicly funded project, the owner is often an organisation. In joint projects, ownership is usually set out in a cooperation agreement. Usually the owner of a RDI project data is Laurea. |
||
| License | The preferred licence for open data is the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC BY 4.0) licence. This means that the data can be freely used without charge and further processed. The only condition is that the source of the data is acknowledged. If you wish, you can also choose another licence. You can find instructions on how to choose a licence on the Creative Commons website: https://creativecommons.fi/ | ||
| Licence addtional info | Choose whether to make the material freely available or to request permission. | ||
| Publish on Internet |
If you select this option, the descriptive data of your data will appear on the Laurea website in the Laurea Data Catalog. This option is highly recommended. |
||
| Publish the material on tiedejatutkimus.fi service | |||
| Other identifier (URN) | If your material has a permanent identifier, please enter it here. Your data will have a permanent identifier if you store it in a national or international data archive, e.g. Data Archive, IDA, Zenodo. | ||
| Maker | Select the persons directly involved in the collection, analysis, publication, etc. of the data from the drop-down menu and click on the "Add" button. | ||
| Publication address | Enter here the address where the data is published. | ||
| Keywords | Enter your own keywords to describe the data. | ||
| Publication date | Enter the date when the data was published on the data repository. | ||
| Data persons | Select the persons directly involved in the collection, analysis, publication, etc. of the data from the drop-down menu and click on the "Add" button. | ||
| Data projects |
Select the projects related to the material from the drop-down menu. After selection, click on the "Add" button. This is ofter already added from the project information. |