Instructions: Article search ABC

Instructions for searching articles

Some general points

  • There is a great number of databases and search services designed for searching (academic) articles.
  • Many of the articles that can be found in the internet are subject to a charge.
  • Laurea Library has acquired an access for it's students and staff to several article resources. A full list of licensed article databases can be found here.

 

Start searching here

Finna article search

  • Finna article search covers most of the articles you can access as a Laurea student or a member of staff.
  • Note! Log in to Finna in order to get the maximum number of search results.

Google Scholar

  • Google's tool for searching academic information returns a good amount of articles.
  • There are less search tools available than in Finna or in the actual article databases.
  • When you are in Google Scholar make sure you have activated Laurea's Library links. Go Settings -> Library links -> type Laurea.

ProQuest Central

  • ProQuest Central searches articles from more than 8000 full text journals.
  • There are very good tools for limiting search results and building more advanced searches.
  • Most articles included in ProQuest Central can also be found via Finna.

EBSCOhost search

  • EBSCOhost search covers several thousands of full text journals.
  • There are very good tools for limiting search results and building more advanced searches.
  • Most articles included in ProQuest Central can not be found via Finna.

 

Systematic article search

  • There is no article search service that can find every article
  • If you are writing e.g. systematic review you should check out several article services and databases.
  •  A complete list of article databases licensed to Laurea Library can be found here.

 

Searching for a certain article

  1. Go Finna article search and log into Finna. Type the name of the article to the search box. Use quotation marks. E.g. ”Health Care Access and Perceptions of Provider Care”.
  2. If you don't find the article, go to Google Scholar. Type the name of the article to the search box. Use quotation marks.
  3. If you don't find the article, go Finna basic search and search by the ISSN-number or the name of the journal. You'll find out whether Laurea Library has a subscribtion to it.
  4. If you still don't find the journal / article contact with the library.

 

Searching for most cited authors, publications and articles within a certain field

Web of Science

  • Reference database that covers data of more than 12 000 academic journals. Maintained by Thomson & Reuters.

Microsoft Academic Search

  • Microsoft's free tool for finding key authors and publications. The service is still in it's beta stage.

 

Laurea-kirjasto | Laurea Library